ALBOP Team Group Photo
Alabama Board Of Pharmacy

The Alabama State Board of Pharmacy was established by legislative action in 1887 with the intent that the composition of the board reflects the demographics of the pharmacy profession. This Board is vested with the authority to carry out the purposes of and enforce Title 34, Chapter 23 of the Practice of Pharmacy Act 205 and Title 20, Chapter 2 of the Uniform Controlled Substance Act. The practice of pharmacy and the management and operation of pharmacies are hereby declared to affect the public health, safety and welfare of the people of Alabama, and thereby are subject to regulation and control in the public interest by a Board of five members. They are assisted by an administrative staff headed by an executive secretary appointed by the Board. Its members shall be licensed pharmacists who have been licensed in this state for a minimum of five years and who are actively engaged in the practice of pharmacy or pharmacy administration, or both. Three members shall be appointed by the Governor. Of the three appointed members, one member shall be engaged in the practice of pharmacy, or pharmacy administration, or both, in a hospital, one in an independent pharmacy, and one in a chain pharmacy. Two members represent non-designated member slots elected by ballot. No pharmacist shall serve two full terms consecutively Read about your Board Members next to their photo.